1. News and resources
  2. Releases from the Minister
  3. Financial Advisers Disciplinary Committee reappointments

Financial Advisers Disciplinary Committee reappointments

Craig Foss
5 June, 2012

Commerce Minister Craig Foss today announced the reappointment of Tracey Berry, Simon Hassan and Peter Houghton as members of the Disciplinary Committee.

Mrs Berry has been appointed for five years, Mr Hassan for four years, and Mr Houghton for a term of three years. Their new terms begin on 2 June.

The Financial Advisors Disciplinary Committee was established under the Financial Advisers Act. It conducts disciplinary proceedings in respect of authorised financial advisers based on complaints brought by the Financial Markets Authority for alleged breaches of the Code of Professional Conduct for Authorised Financial Advisers.

The Committee is chaired by Hon Sir Bruce Robertson. Further information on the Disciplinary Committee can be found at www.fma.govt.nz.


Tracey Berry is the Head of Wealth and Private Bank for Bank of New Zealand, with over 17 years of experience and understanding of the financial sector, including regulatory, risk, compliance and governance.

Simon Hassan has worked for more than 23 years as a financial adviser, and has wide experience in financial advice and financial products. He served for nine years as a director of the Institute of Financial Advisers.

Peter Houghton established a long career in the UK investment banking industry, including as a Trustee Director and Investment Committee Chairman of the JP Morgan UK Pension Plan.