1. FMA's role
  2. Our people
  3. Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Murray Jack

Chairman, BCom, FCA

Murray has over 30 years’ experience as a management consultant, and was previously a member of the Securities Commission. He is also Chair of Chartered Accountants Australia & New Zealand and Education Payroll Limited.

Current term expires April 2019.

Ainsley McLaren 

Member, BCom

Ainsley is a board member of the Government Superannuation Fund Authority and has more than 25 years' broad financial services experience including investment management, fixed interest and financial markets. She was previously Head of Investment Management for ASB Group Investments Limited. In that role, she was accountable for the performance of ASB Bank’s retail managed funds and immunising the long-dated liabilities of Sovereign Assurance, New Zealand’s largest life insurer. Prior to joining ASB Group Investments, Ainsley was Head of Sales and Service for ASB Financial Markets leading the team of dealers providing foreign exchange and interest rate risk management solutions to a wide range of clients.

Current term expires September 2021.

Arthur Grimes

Member, BSocSc (Hons), MSc, PhD

Arthur is Senior Fellow with Motu Economic and Public Policy Research Trust, Adjunct Professor (Economics) at Victoria University of Wellington and Chair of the Hugo Group strategy sessions. He was previously Southpac CEO and Chair of the Reserve Bank.

Current term expires April 2019.

Campbell Stuart


Campbell has 25 years’ experience in stockbroking and funds management. He is also a Director of Aspiring Asset Management. He was previously Managing Principal at UBS New Zealand, was on the NZX Disciplinary Committee, and was Vice Chair of NZX.

Current term expires June 2018.

Mark Todd

Member, LLB Hons

Mark has over 20 years’ experience in financial markets regulation, and has held governance roles with both listed and unlisted companies. He co-founded Anti-Money Laundering Solutions, Chairs Mint Asset Management and is a Director of Westpac Life.

Current term expires June 2020.


Mary Holm

Member, BA, MA, MBA

Mary is a financial columnist, author and seminar presenter. She was a member of the Capital Markets Development Taskforce and the Savings Working Group. and has been a newspaper business editor and part-time senior lecturer at the University of Auckland.

Current term expires June 2019.

Shelley Cave

Member, LLB

Shelley is a professional director who also sits on the board of the Government Superannuation Fund Authority, and held roles on the Financial Markets Establishment Board and the Securities Commission.  She was previously a lawyer for over 20 years. 

Current term expires April 2017.

Vanessa Stoddart

Vanessa StoddartMember, B Com/LLB (Hons), PG Dip in Prof Ethics

Vanessa is also a Director of NZ Refinery, The Warehouse Group, and The Alliance Group, and a member of the Tertiary Education Commission. She was previously a Senior Executive at Air New Zealand and CEO of Carter Holt Harvey Packaging Australia.

Current term expires June 2021.

William Stevens

Member, BBS

William has over 25 years’ experience as an investment adviser. He is an NZX adviser, is a Director of Craigs Investment Partners, and Chairs the Dingwall Trust for Children. He was previously Deputy Chair of the New Zealand Markets Disciplinary Tribunal.

Current term expires June 2020.